Posted by & filed under FaceBook, IS ethics, Privacy, Search, Security, Social Media.

Description: Facebook’s recent privacy recalculation prevents excluding your profile picture, cover photo, and other formerly hide-able information from search results.

Source: CNET

Date: November 12, 2013

facebook

You may have been one of the many Facebook users contacted by the company last week about the demise of the “Who can look up your Timeline by name” search setting. The Facebook e-mail announcing the discontinuation of the feature goes on to explain how to limit what information you share on the service. Unfortunately, there’s no longer a way to limit globally the personal information Facebook shares with everyone; you can do so only for each separate post using the audience selector. Read Rest of Story

Questions for discussion:

1. What types of worries might arise among Facebook users in light of this new security feature change?

2. Do Facebook changes like this make you reconsider using the site?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *